A little hello

Image

My name is Hailey Moses, and I am honored to introduce myself as the new Garden Teacher and Volunteer Coordinator of the Edible Schoolyard! Kat has left behind some pretty big shoes to fill, and I am incredibly excited to build upon all of the garden-based programming that she developed. There are wonderful things in store for the Edible Schoolyard, and I can’t wait to be a part of it all.

A little bit about myself: I was born and raised in Gainesville, FL, where I grew up with my parents, two siblings, and numerous family pets. I moved to Greensboro to attend Guilford College in August of 2006, and double-majored in Spanish and Peace and Conflict Studies. The summer after my sophomore year, I decided to intern at Cane Creek Farm in Snow Camp, NC. This experience was my introduction to growing food, and I fell deeply in love with the land, the animals, and the gardens. From that day on, I have wanted to devote my life to farm and garden-related work. I started at the Edible Schoolyard in September 2011 as a part-time Assistant Teacher, and became the full-time Garden Teacher in September 2012!

I believe in the individuality of every child, and that there is power in working with one’s hands. I want to participate in the cultivation of active, aware young citizens who are in the love with growing food and with the communities that they live in. I also want to be silly, and to laugh and play in the garden every day. Thank you for reading, and I hope to meet you sometime soon in the Edible Schoolyard garden!

-Hailey

Leave a Reply

